a248.e.akamai.net ???????



Anonymous-User
GuGee Since: 2006-11-30
GuG-Points: 675
Last Seen: 04/13/2008 - 6:23pm

I am: Luvin TheGuG

anyone know what this is? i usually spend an hour trying to figure out things myself, buti got mized results with this. Everytime i login to yahoo, it says, at the bottom left, "transferring data a248.e.akamai.net". My zone alarm says in the component area, that there is something called mrtstub.exe (malicious). i tried to get it off manually & through my "so called" internet protectors/programs, but no luck. i wonder why im having so many issues lately!

--


Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.
mt007
GuGee Since: 04-Feb-2008
GuG-Points: 2
Last Seen: 02/04/2008 - 8:47pm
Re: a248.e.akamai.net ???????

Had to sign in to find out.
I guess there is a lot of first times left.
Thanks!



Ashton
I'm Trusted Premium Member!I donated to The GuG !Awesome Member!Looked at and admired by many!Mystery BadgeSomeone ELSE paid $1 to put this badge on me!Certified Member Helper
GuGee Since: 20-Nov-2006
GuG-Points: 1079
Last Seen: 08/28/2008 - 11:35am
Location: Deserts of Arizona

I am: Voting for Obama

Re: a248.e.akamai.net ???????

Well, I'm learning from your posts today.

mrtstub.exe appears to be some leftover remnant from the Windows malicious software removal tool, included in windows udpates.

(That was cute that the color font followed my cut and paste)

All though some sites say it needs to be removed immediately...I get the sense that they are trying to peddle software...which is why I would just love "one" malicious process database w/o all the B.S.

I digress. It's recommended to run the removal tool again from Windows update. Or try to manually navigate to this folder and delete the .exe through performing a search on mrtstub.exe.

"A man can stand anything except a succession of ordinary days."
-Johann Wolfgang von Goethe



mt007
GuGee Since: 04-Feb-2008
GuG-Points: 2
Last Seen: 02/04/2008 - 8:47pm
Re: a248.e.akamai.net ???????

I am new at this and older but I just noticed this because I am new.
What is it???
m



Ashton
I'm Trusted Premium Member!I donated to The GuG !Awesome Member!Looked at and admired by many!Mystery BadgeSomeone ELSE paid $1 to put this badge on me!Certified Member Helper
GuGee Since: 20-Nov-2006
GuG-Points: 1079
Last Seen: 08/28/2008 - 11:35am
Location: Deserts of Arizona

I am: Voting for Obama

Re: a248.e.akamai.net ???????

Funny how the most innocuous posts can be so difficult.

a248.e.akamai.net is a fast caching service that many large companies use to store their update lists and provide secure connections, like Wells Fargo. The following are some cut and pastes:

"Akamia is a fast caching solution for websites whiuch have a great number of hits. These websites store there gifs and seldom changing popular apps at this cache hosting company. Numerous companies such as McAfee.com, Wells Fargo, B of A etc. post data and programs to Akamia. McAfee posts there DAT files at this location to support the user community in grabbing the latest DAT when a new virus threat hits. Several years ago McAfee ranked 23rd out of all websites in terms of activity. At present many companies would require 3 to 10 OC4 transmission lines. An OC4 is 28 T3's which is 784 T1's) to handle the volume of traffic. Many companies would not be able to stay in the .com world without Akamia."
Link to original information.

 

"Try visiting https://a248.e.akamai.net/v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/getmanifest.asp right now.

You should see something like:
<catalog>
<provider />
catalog>

If you do not see this, then you are being blocked from a248.e.akamai.net, the server that Windows Update uses to store the update list."

Link to original article.

I included this article from 2003 as it mentioned that virus and spyware may be blocking your connection to windows update using this service

I've heard of the adware you're describing, I'm pretty sure I've dealt with it in the past. I'll post another comment...

"A man can stand anything except a succession of ordinary days."
-Johann Wolfgang von Goethe



Anonymous-User
GuGee Since: 30-Nov-2006
GuG-Points: 675
Last Seen: 04/13/2008 - 6:23pm

I am: Luvin TheGuG

Re: a248.e.akamai.net ???????

im still reading the articles! Thank you ashton Eye-wink!!!! i appreciate you taking time to get me that info! my questions are never ending -it seems=)

 

<No problem - Ashton>

--